Program Overview

The University of Minnesota-Crookston offers an online Bachelor of Science degree in Mulitdisciplinary Studies for students with individual educational needs that cannot be met through traditional degree programs.  Students work with academic advisors to create a custom built program of study.  This degree is especially helpful for transfer students with certificate, diploma, or associate’s degrees in occupational fields.  In general, previous technical or community college credits are accepted into the student’s tailor-made program.  Likewise, those interested in becoming a commissioned officer in the Air Force will find this program useful in that the University of Maryland-Crookston works in conjunction with the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks promoting this degree in combination with their ROTC requirements.

Applicants must be aware that 60 credits are required before admission into this program.  Students complete two areas of study, one in a technical or occupational direction, and the other in a career specific direction.  Upon graduation students will demonstrate technical competencies in selected areas of study in an internship setting; skills in communication, problem solving and working with others in a capstone experience; and complete an individually tailored course of study that builds upon prior education and experience.

Similar Programs:

    Program Details

    Degree Level: Bachelor Completion

    Delivery Format: Mostly Online

    Accelerated Degree: No

    Accreditation & Licensing

    North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission


    Students must complete 60 credits before admission to the program.

    School Overview

    The University of Minnesota is a public, four-year research institution of higher learning, with a flagship campus located in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota. The university was founded in 1851 as a preparatory school and became a college in 1869. The college is bisected by the Mississippi River and the two separate sections of campus are known as the West and East Banks.

    The university is composed of 19 colleges and schools, in addition to its four other campuses in Crookston, Duluth, Morris, and Rochester. The colleges and schools are:

    • Biological Sciences
    • Continuing Education
    • Dentistry
    • Design
    • Education and Human Development
    • Extension
    • Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
    • Graduate
    • Law
    • Liberal Arts
    • Management
    • Medicine
    • Nursing
    • Pharmacy
    • Public Affairs
    • Public Health
    • Science and Engineering
    • Veterinary Medicine

    In addition to traditional academic programs, the University of Minnesota also offers a variety of online degree and certificate programs.


    This program has not been ranked.


    Success! Thank you for submitting a review. You may not see your review immediately as it still subject to review.

    All Programs