La Verne, CA

School Details

Since 1891, the University of La Verne has been dedicated to the belief that a quality, values-based education enriches the human condition by engendering service, scholarly accomplishment, and professionalism. The University of La Verne was founded as Lordsburg College by members of the Church of the Brethren who had moved west. Both the college and the agricultural community were renamed La Verne in 1917, and the 1920s and 1930s found three-quarters of the student body in teacher education. The next three decades saw campus facilities multiply fourfold, and the Board of Trustees become independent of church control. In the 1960s the college awarded its first master’s degree, and in 1979, it conferred its first doctorate. The college reorganized in 1977 as the University of La Verne.

La Verne offers associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, as well as undergraduate and graduate certificates. Programs are housed in the following colleges:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business and Public Management
  • LaFetra College of Education
  • College of Law

La Verne Online offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs that can be completed entirely online, available only to California residents at this time.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of La Verne is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Check Program Availability