Find out more about University of Illinois at Springfield

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

In 1960, a group of central Illinois citizens, united in their goal of bringing a four-year university to the capital city, formed the Springfield Committee for Higher Education. Legislation creating Sangamon State University (SSU) was signed in 1969. The first classes were held in 1970, which is considered the founding year of SSU. Sangamon State University was acquired by the University of Illinois in 1995, and became known as the University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS). Our students, regardless of major, acquire the classic benefits of a liberal arts education – the ability to think critically and communicate intelligently.

UIS offers degree-granting programs in the following four colleges:

  • Business and Management
  • Education and Human Services
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Public Affairs and Administration

Online learning at Illinois Springfield offers flexibility and convenience with the same high quality as on-campus coursework. Students can earn bachelor's and master's degrees as well as certificates in completely online formats.

Accreditation & Licensing

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

All Programs