Dayton, OH

School Details

On July 1, 1850, St. Mary's School for Boys, a frame building that not long before had housed farm hands, opened its doors to 14 primary students from Dayton. Known at various times as St. Mary's School, St. Mary's Institute and St. Mary's College, the school assumed its present identity in 1920. Today, the University of Dayton is recognized as a top-tier national research university rooted in the Catholic tradition. The stated mission of Dayton is to be “a top-tier Catholic research university with academic offerings from the undergraduate to the doctoral levels. We are a diverse community committed, in the Marianist tradition, to educating the whole person and linking learning and scholarship with leadership and service.”

Dayton awards bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees from the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • School of Business Administration
  • School of Education & Health Sciences
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Law

Each school offers online programs for degrees, certificates, and licensures. 

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Dayton is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability