Fairbanks, AK

School Details

In 1917, the University of Alaska Fairbanks opened with a federal land grant as the Alaska Agricultural College and School of Mines with research and teaching in support of agriculture and mining as its focus. In 1935 the Alaska Territorial Legislature changed the institution's name to the University of Alaska to reflect the school's expanding role in research, teaching and public service for all Alaska. By then, faculty and course offerings had grown to include a range of liberal arts, science and engineering. To meet the need for expanding services for all Alaskans, the University of Alaska statewide system was created in 1975. Campuses in Anchorage and Juneau were assigned their own chancellors and central staffs, with the statewide administration and overall university president remaining in Fairbanks.

UAF offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate degrees and certificates from the following schools and colleges:

  • School of Education
  • College of Engineering and Mines
  • School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
  • Graduate School
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • School of Management
  • School of Natural Resources and Extension
  • College of Natural Science and Mathematics
  • College of Rural and Community Development

Online degrees are offered through UAOnline from the various campuses, including Anchorage and Juneau.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Alaska Fairbanks is accredited by:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Check Program Availability