Akron, OH

School Details

The University of Akron, a four-year, public research university, dates back to 1870 when Buchtel College was first established in Akron, Ohio. Initially, 46 students enrolled. By 1880, the first graduate student was awarded a master’s degree and, in 1926, the college was renamed the University of Akron. In the mid-twentieth century, UA began offering doctoral programs. UA operates multiple campuses and locations.

The University of Akron awards associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, in addition to a Juris Doctor and certificate programs. Programs are housed in the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Applied Science and Technology
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business Administration
  • LeBron James Family Foundation College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Health Professions
  • College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering
  • Graduate School
  • Williams Honors College
  • Law School
  • Wayne College

The University of Akron offers online programs for added convenience. Taught by qualified faculty, students can pursue online bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and certificate programs from the colleges of Health Professions, Business, and Education.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Akron is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability