Master of Science in Nursing / Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
The University of Texas at Arlington

Program Details

The online MSN / Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner degree focuses on the advanced skills necessary to provide care to adults in all stages of life. Graduates are prepared to provide primary care services to individuals from adolescence through adulthood and end of life.

This Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner program explores topics in health promotion, illness prevention, managing minor acute illnesses, and chronic complex health management needs of older adults. Nurses can utilize their knowledge and skills to help patients maximize their health, function, and independence. The program also provides the leadership and research skills advanced nurses need in order to improve healthcare delivery for adults and their families.

Coursework includes studies such as:

  • Role of the nurse in advanced practice
  • Adult gerontology management across the continuum
  • Adult gerontology primary care
  • Evidence-based practice

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Texas at Arlington is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

GRE, Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • GRE not required for students with GPA 3.0 or higher
  • Must have a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from an ACEN or CCNE accredited program, including undergraduate statistics course with minimum C grade
  • Unencumbered RN license required

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories