Master of Science in Nursing / Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
The University of Texas at Arlington

Program Details

Build on your previous nursing education to provide advanced care to adults in hospital and clinic settings with the MSN / Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner degree. This online MSN program focuses on the health management of patients from age 18 through adulthood and end of life

The Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner program emphasizes health restoration, complex health management, and the management of acute and chronic illnesses. Nurses also gain skills in leadership and research in order to improve patient care and outreach.

The curriculum covers topics including:

  • Advanced pathophysiology and pharmacology
  • Advanced health assessment and diagnostic reasoning
  • Adult gerontology management across the continuum
  • Exploration of science and theories

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Texas at Arlington is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

GRE, Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • GRE not required for students with GPA 3.0 or higher
  • Must have a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from an ACEN or CCNE accredited program, including undergraduate statistics course with minimum C grade
  • Unencumbered RN license and two years clinical RN experience within the area of concentration in an acute care setting within the past five years required

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories