Master of Science in Nursing / Nurse Practitioner – Mental Health
The University of Alabama

Program Details

The online MSN Nurse Practitioner programs from The University of Alabama focus on improving health and wellness disparities in the rural southeastern United States. A concentration in Mental Health prepares the student to sit for the Psychiatric Mental Health national certification examination.

Students learn how to fill a critical healthcare need in this online Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program. Courses explore health promotion and disease prevention, as well as diagnosing common acute and chronic illnesses. The online coursework is combined with face-to-face clinical experiences to allow nurses to continue their careers while earning their degree.

Students in the Mental Health concentration will take courses such as:

  • Psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner role and issues
  • Population health
  • Advanced pharmacology
  • Informatics in healthcare

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Alabama is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • Must have a bachelor's degree in nursing from a regionally accredited school
  • Must have a current, unencumbered RN license in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, or Mississippi

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories