Master of Science in Nursing / Nurse Practitioner – Dual Concentration
The University of Alabama

Program Details

The online MSN Nurse Practitioner programs from The University of Alabama focus on improving health and wellness disparities in the rural southeastern United States. A dual concentration in Primary Care and Mental Health prepares the student to sit for both the Family Nurse Practitioner and Psychiatric Mental Health national certification examinations.

Students learn how to fill a critical healthcare need in this Nurse Practitioner program online. Courses explore health promotion and disease prevention, as well as diagnosing common acute and chronic illnesses. The online coursework is combined with face-to-face clinical experiences to allow nurses to continue their careers while earning their degree.

Core courses examine topics related to:

  • Population health
  • Informatics in healthcare
  • Advanced health assessment, pharmacology, and pathophysiology
  • Organizational and systems leadership
  • Research and evidence-based practice
  • Health policy and finance

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Alabama is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • Must have a bachelor's degree in nursing from a regionally accredited school
  • Must have a current, unencumbered RN license in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, or Mississippi

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories