Troy, NY

School Details

Russell Sage College was founded in Troy, New York, in 1916 by Margaret Olivia Slocum Sage and named in honor of her late husband, who had left her his considerable fortune. Mrs. Sage was active in the women’s suffrage movement and founded the new college to offer women the means of independence through the combination of broad education in the liberal arts with preparation for specific professional careers. During World War II, an “emergency men’s division” was created and in 1942 the first graduate degree was conferred. In 1949, an Albany Division was opened, offering two-year, four-year and graduate degrees under the charter of Russell Sage College and extending the college’s mission to include the education of men on the second campus.

Today, there are two undergraduate colleges and four graduate schools that make up the Sage Colleges:

  • Russell Sage College
  • Sage College of Albany
  • School of Professional and Continuing Education
  • Esteves School of Education
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Management

Russell Sage Online, the distance learning component of The Sage Colleges, offers degree programs and courses in high-demand areas such as cybersecurity, business, accounting, applied behavior analysis, and more.

Accreditation & Licensing

The Sage Colleges is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Check Program Availability