Master of Science in Nursing / Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
The George Washington University

Program Details

Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners care for adolescents and adults in a variety of high-intensity healthcare environments that require fast-paced critical thinking skills. This online MSN degree program from The George Washington University prepares nurses with the specialized skills and knowledge they need to succeed in this vital role.

Students in the online Adult Nurse Practitioner program gain experience working as advanced practice leaders and interprofessional team members caring for critically ill patients and their families. Coursework explores the best practices, guidelines, research findings, patient preferences, and cultural considerations to take into account when formulating an individualized care plan for each patient.

Graduates can put their skills to work in a variety of clinical settings, such as:

  • Urgent care centers
  • Critical care units
  • Inpatient medical-surgical units
  • Specialty units

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The George Washington University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • The following on-campus experiences are required:
    • CLASI – Health Assessment Test Outs and seminars (3 days)
    • AGACNP II (3 Sessions)
    • Ventilators, Airway Management, Central Line Insertion (1 day)
    • Rapid Response, Shock – Critical Thinking in Crisis (1 day)
    • Suturing and Chest Tube Insertion (1 day)
    • Comprehensive Critical Care Management (2 days)

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International