Doctor of Nursing Practice / Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
The George Washington University

Program Details

Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners serve as advanced practice leaders and members of interprofessional teams providing care for acute and critically ill patients and their families. This online DNP degree specialization allows nurses to treat adolescents and adults across the continuum of care. 

Coursework and clinical hours prepare nurses for the high-intensity and fast-paced environment of acute care. Students develop the critical thinking skills necessary to succeed as Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioners. Graduates will have the ability to improve patient outcomes, change systems, and translate evidence into practice to improve quality and safety of healthcare.

The curriculum includes studies of:

  • Advanced pharmacology
  • Epidemiology and population health
  • Genetics for healthcare providers
  • Biostatistics for healthcare research
  • Healthcare quality improvement

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The George Washington University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.3 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • This program requires four visits to campus.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International