Find out more about Texas Tech University

Take the first step today

Talk with an Enrollment Counselor specializing in
Master of Science in Human Development and Family Studies emphasis on Gerontology.

 Your privacy is important and your data is secure.

Program Details

Texas Tech University's online Master of Science in Human Development and Family Studies is made possible through a consortium of universities called the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance (GPIDEA). Several universities have come together to offer online post-baccalaureate programs to students whose families or careers have prevented them from completing a degree on campus. The consortium agreement allows students to take courses offered by multiple institutions for a standard tuition in order to complete a program.

Faculty research interests in the HDFS department are broad and multidisciplinary, creating many areas of specialization. Inpidual development research includes participants across the lifespan as well as within multiple domains of development. Special emphasis is placed on exploring development in context, measuring brain function using fMRI, and understanding developmental problems and solutions. Relationship process research includes inter-generational family relationships (ranging from infant-parent dyads to adult children and their elderly parents), close relationships (intimate and marital relationships), social interactions, and family issues (impact of work and stress on families). The department also specializes in research on theory, statistical methods and analyses, Hispanic and other ethnic studies, and issues specific to rural populations.

The department is a member of the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance (Great Plains IDEA), a multiple-university association with online graduate programs. Through this organization, the department offers a master’s degree in HDFS with a specialization in gerontology. 

The master’s concentration requires a total of 36 hours comprised of eight core courses and four elective courses. The universities that are part of the gerontology program include Iowa State University, Kansas State University, North Dakota State University, Oklahoma State University, University of Missouri–Columbia, and Texas Tech University. This program is designed to prepare professionals who are either working directly with older people or involved in education and research related to aging adults.


Students planning to pursue a master's degree must submit Graduate Records Exam (GRE) scores to the Graduate School. Scores must be less than five years old at the time of application.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges