Texas Tech University

Broadway and University Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409-5005

School Details

Texas Tech University is a public, 4-year institution located in Lubbock, Texas. The school was founded in 1923 and today is the leading institution of the Texas Tech University System.


Texas Tech University has the seventh-largest student body population in the state of Texas with over 30,000 students enrolled. TTU is the only university in the state of Texas to house an undergraduate institution, law school, and medical school all in the same location. Texas Tech University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

The total number of students is 32,611. Over 80% of students come from Texas State. The student body population is also quite diverse with students representing all 50 states and over 100 different countries. TTU has 5 satellite campuses in Texas and two campuses abroad in Germany and Spain. There are also numerous study abroad opportunities for students to countries like Denmark, France, Italy, and England.

Apart from academics, the student life at TTU is very lively. There are over 390 student clubs and organizations that students are encouraged to get involved in. There are also many other opportunities for students to have a good time and meet new people. The Student Union building is a gathering place for students to hang out and is the hub for daily student activity. Many students participate in Greek life. Texas Tech houses 11 Panhellenic Sororities and 24 InterFraternity Council Fraternities, as well as groups in the NPHC and Multicultural Greek Council. Approximately 20% of students live on campus. Sports are also a big thing at TTU. Texas Tech competes in the NCAA Division I FBS and is a member of the Big 12 Conference.


TTU offers more than 150 courses divided from 13 colleges and also hosts 60 research centers and institutes. More specifically, TTU offers 150 bachelor's, 100 master's, and 50 doctoral degree programs. The following is a list of the 13 colleges and schools at TTU: Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Architecture, Arts and Sciences, Rawls College of Business Administration, Education, Whitacre College of Engineering, Honors, Human Sciences, Media & Communication, and Visual and Performing Arts. The most highly ranked college at TTU is the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. It is ranked in the top 30 largest schools for agriculture in terms of enrollment. In addition, there is the Graduate School and the School of Law. Texas Tech offers online and regional programs in addition to programs offered on the main campus.

The Texas Tech Health Sciences Center is a component of the Texas Tech University System. The center has many departments which include the following: the School of Nursing, the School of Medicine, the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing, the School of Pharmacy, the School of Allied Health, and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. This is a multi-campus institution dedicated to education, patient care, and research. The campuses are located in El Paso, Amarillo, Lubbock, Odessa, Midland, Abilene, and Dallas/Fort Worth. The school was established in 1969 with the administrative campus located in Lubbock. The total enrollment is 4,370 students. The pass rate is 94%. Financial aid is given to students who qualify. Last year, almost $80,000 was awarded in financial aid. Aid is received through loans, scholarships and grants.


In addition to completing the application forms, the admissions office requires basic academic standing. Applicants are guaranteed admission either through high class ranking or high ACT/SAT scores. For example, if a student is in the top 10% of their class, admissions does not really observe the test scores as closely. Base annual tuition for undergraduate students is $9,242 for in-state and $19,772 for out-of-state students. Additional fees such as room & board, books, and transportation are not included in this price. Residents of New Mexico and Oklahoma only pay $10,142. Financial aid is available to those students who qualify. Qualification is determined by filling out a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). There are basic eligibilities set by the institution. Applicants must be accepted to TTU, enrolled in a degree-seeking program, U.S. citizen, be enrolled at least half time each semester, and meet satisfactory academic progress. Aid can be received either through scholarships, grants, or loans.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges


School Overview:

  • Sector Of Institution:
    Public, 4-year or above
  • Religious Affiliation:
    Not applicable
  • Highest Level Of Offering:
    Doctor's degree
  • Total Enrollments:
  • Adult Age Enrollments:
  • Percent Admitted:
  • Calendar System:



Success! Thank you for submitting a review. You may not see your review immediately as it still subject to review.

Available Programs

Start HERE to Learn More