Cookeville, TN

School Details

Tennessee Technological University, commonly called Tennessee Tech, is a 4-year, public institution of higher learning that was established by the state in 1915. Tennessee struggled in the early twentieth century to fund the church-supported University of Dixie in the rural town of Cookeville. A move to transfer the school from a privately funded institution to a public school supported by Cookeville and surrounding Putnam County in 1915 revived the school as it adopted a new title, Tennessee Tech and officially opened in the fall of 1916. The technical school initially prepared students for skilled labor in industry and agriculture. By the 1930s, curriculum expanded to offer four-year degrees, and by mid-century, Tennessee Polytechnic Institute transitioned into Tennessee Technological University, organizing academic programs into five colleges.

TTU offers more than bachelor’s, master's and doctoral degree programs categorized into six academic divisions:

  • College of Agriculture & Human Ecology
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Whitson-Hester School of Nursing
  • Graduate Studies

TTU also offers online degree programs at the bachelor's and the master's level.

Check Program Availability