New Haven, CT

School Details

Life began for Southern Connecticut State University on September 11, 1893, when three teachers and 84 students met at the old Skinner School in New Haven to create a two-year teacher training school, New Haven State Normal School. By 1937, Southern had grown into a four-year college with the power to grant bachelor's degrees. In 1959, state legislation expanded Southern's offerings to include liberal arts programs leading to bachelor's degrees. At the same time, New Haven State Teachers College became Southern Connecticut State College. For the next 24 years, Southern grew, modernized, and diversified, expanding its undergraduate and graduate programs becoming Southern Connecticut State University in 1983.

Southern is a comprehensive university offering graduate and undergraduate programs from the following schools:

  • School of Arts and Sciences
  • School of Business
  • School of Education
  • School of Graduate Studies
  • School of Health and Human Services

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Connecticut State University is accredited by:

New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

Check Program Availability