South Florida State College

600 W College Dr, Avon Park, FL 33825-9356

School Details

South Florida State College was established in 1965 by the Florida Legislature to serve the educational needs of Highlands and Hardee counties. The permanent site planned for the college was 1.5 miles south of Avon Park, and the college officially moved onto this site in 1969. In 1984, South Florida Junior College became known as South Florida Community College. Today, SFSC has three campuses and several off-site centers, including the Highlands, Hardee, and DeSoto campuses, and Lake Placid Center.

Students can earn associate's degrees or occupational certificates at South Florida State College. In 1992, SFSC became one of the first community colleges in Florida to offer bachelor’s degree programs through partnerships with public and private universities. It now offers 13 bachelor’s degree programs and three master’s degree programs through eight colleges and universities. Through the Florida Virtual Campus, students at South Florida State College can earn degreees and certificates completely online.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

School Overview

  • Sector Of Institution:
    Public, 4-year or above
  • Religious Affiliation:
    Not applicable
  • Highest Level Of Offering:
    Bachelor's degree
  • Total Enrollments:
  • Percent Admitted:
    Open admissions policy
  • Calendar System:



This school has not been ranked.

Success! Thank you for submitting a review. You may not see your review immediately as it still subject to review.

All Programs