Find out more about South Dakota State University

Take the first step today

Talk with an Enrollment Counselor specializing in
Master of Science in Sociology / Community Development.

 Your privacy is important and your data is secure.

Program Details

South Dakota State University offers the Master of Science in Sociology with a specialization in Community Development, a program that opens up the opportunity to study with leading educators and researchers representing diverse fields including community and regional planning, architecture, sociology, Native American studies, economics and natural resources. This degree can equip you with the tools and educational experience to be more effective. 

You will have the opportunity to select a specialized emphasis of study from one of the following four areas: 

  • Working with Native Communities
  • Building Economic Capacity
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Non-Profit Management


A minimum GPA of 3.0 to receive unconditional acceptance. An official bachelor's degree transcript.

Accreditation & Licensing

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission