San Diego, CA

School Details

San Diego State University is a four-year, public research institution of higher education, located in the city of San Diego, California. San Diego Normal School opened in 1897, in order to prepare students for elementary school teaching careers. By the 1920s, the school added four-year programs, in addition to a junior college campus. The college continued to expand academic programs, and constructed a new campus to meet these needs. The school was renamed San Diego State College. Then, in 1960 the college became part of what is now recognized as the California State University system, and by 1970, the school transitioned into San Diego State University. San Diego State University, with 22 other schools, remains a member of the California State University System.

San Diego State University offers students bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and doctoral degrees. Academic programs are divided among the following colleges:

  • College of Arts & Letters
  • Fowler College of Business Administration
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Health & Human Services
  • College of Professional Studies & Fine Arts
  • College of Sciences
  • Weber Honors College

The College of Extended Studies offers an online bachelor's degree completion program in business administration and several master's degree programs that are structured for working adults. These programs provide the flexibility needed by adults who combine a workforce commitment, and often a family commitment with the desire to complete a degree in their chosen field.

Accreditation & Licensing

San Diego State University is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Check Program Availability