Master of Science in Nursing / Family Nurse Practitioner
Samuel Merritt University

Program Details

The online MSN / Family Nurse Practitioner degree program from Samuel Merritt University helps students develop the clinical knowledge and practical skills they need to gain licensure as Family Nurse Practitioners. Coursework prepares students to:

  • ​Work with patients to develop thorough, accurate medical histories
  • ​Perform examinations and diagnostic tests, including interpretation of results
  • ​Establish and implement care plans based on patient needs and monitor ongoing effectiveness
  • ​Promote healthy living habits and provide advice about preventive care
  • Make referrals and consult with other practitioners
  • Produce graduate-level research for peer review
  • ​Lead within the profession and act as advocates for patients

​Graduates may seek employment in a variety of settings, including hospitals, clinics, community health organizations, schools, hospice care, nursing homes, and private practice.

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Samuel Merritt University is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Be a licensed, currently practicing Registered Nurse
  • Required to attend two on-campus intensives at the Sacramento campus

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International