Saint Louis, MO

School Details

Saint Louis University is a private, not-for-profit, co-educational Jesuit university located in St. Louis, Missouri that was founded in 1818. Originally, the school was called the Saint Louis Academy, the first students attended school in a private home, located along the Mississippi River. By 1889, the campus relocated to its permanent home, first constructing DuBourg Hall. Though the college continued to evolve, adding to the physical campus and expanding curriculums, SLU retains its Catholic, Jesuit heritage.

The university offers about 100 undergraduate programs and more than 70 graduate programs. The school’s academic programs are divided into the following colleges:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • College of Philosophy & Letters
  • John Cook School of Business
  • Parks College of Engineering, Aviation and Technology
  • School of Social Work
  • College of Education and Public Service
  • The Graduate School
  • School of Law
  • School of Professional Studies
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • Doisy College of Health Sciences

For added convenience for working professionals and non-traditional students, Saint Louis University supports a distance education campus, offering online bachelor’s degrees, minor and certificate programs, and master’s programs. Students may also enroll in individual online classes through the SLU School for Professional Studies.

Accreditation & Licensing

Saint Louis University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability