Master of Social Work / Advanced Standing
Saint Leo University

Program Details

The Master of Social Work Program mission is to prepare graduate students for professional advanced practice in becoming leaders through the provision of social work services that promote social and economic justice, and human rights locally, nationally and globally. The program further expects graduates to contribute to the empowerment of people/groups that experience discrimination and oppression.

Graduates are prepared to be leaders in advanced clinical social work practice serving all areas of the population, paying special attention to the increasing aging population, military personnel and the workforce population.

This MSW program is an advanced standing program offered to those who have completed a BSW degree from a CSWE accredited program within the last five years. 

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Saint Leo University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Application Requirements

Statement of Purpose/Intent, Resume/CV, Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Official College Transcript(s), Interview, Criminal Background Check, Additional Materials May Be Requested

Additional Info

  • Students must attend a one-weekend, on-campus seminar.
  • Applicants should possess a bachelor's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited social work program, completed within the last 5 years.
  • A cumulative GPA of 3.25 is required.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories