Advanced Certificate in Lean Six Sigma
Rochester Institute of Technology

Program Details

The online Advanced Certificate in Lean Six Sigma program is for engineers, process-improvement facilitators, and other practitioners who want to increase their effectiveness or enhance qualifications to broaden their careers.  The curriculum focuses on the use of the DMAIC process (define, measure, analyze, improve, and control) and advanced statistical techniques to improve processes and reduce defects).  Courses may include:

  • Lean Six Sigma Fundamentals
  • Design of Experiments
  • Designing Experiments for Engineering and Sciences
  • Foundations of Experimental Design 
  • Applied Statistical Quality Control


  • Hold a baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution
  • A minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher preferred
  • Official transcripts (in English) of all previously completed undergraduate and graduate course work
  • A current resume
  • A personal statement
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • Have a satisfactory background in mathematics and statistics (at least one course in probability and statistics)
  • A test of English Language aptitude (TOEFL) is required of all applicants and course registrants whose native language is not English

School Accreditation Statement

Middle States Commission on Higher Education