Find out more about Rasmussen College

Associate of Science in Paralegal

Program Details

Rasmussen's Paralegal Associate’s degree can help you work toward a paralegal career, with the knowledge and experience you need, in as few as 18 months.1 Designed to give you a quality education, Rasmussen's Paralegal Associate’s program covers all areas of law, from family law to modern legal issues such as intellectual property and emerging technologies including blockchain and cryptocurrency. Through career-focused curriculum and practical, hands-on opportunities in your courses, you will develop strong writing and critical-thinking skills, utilize and navigate legal research tools and effectively communicate in a variety of situations. From conducting research and preparing legal documents for hearings, trials or corporate meetings to being involved in courts, law firms and government agencies, you will prepare to become part of an important, fast-paced team within the legal system. Rasmussen's curriculum is designed to academically prepare you to sit for the National Certified Legal Assistant/Paralegal Examination (CLA/CP Exam)—the cost of which is included in the program cost.2

This degree is available with Flex Choice®, which allows you to combine traditional online coursework and self-directed assessments—a more affordable way to receive credit for what you already know.

1 Completion time is dependent on transfer credits accepted and the number of courses completed each term.

2 Rasmussen College will reimburse the application fee for each first attempt of all of the industry certification exams for which you qualify to take. Should you need to take an exam more than once to receive a passing score, you will be responsible for all subsequent exam application fees.

See for information about educational debt, earnings and completion rates.


  • High school diploma, or equivalent

Accreditation & Licensing

Rasmussen College is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. | 800-621-7440.


This program is not authorized for residents of: Puerto Rico, American Samoa, or N. Mariana Islands.