Doctor of Nursing Practice
Ohio State University

Program Details

The online DNP degree program from Ohio State University prepares students to become expert evidence-based practitioners and healthcare administrators through customized learning opportunities in core course work, electives, and clinical immersion experiences. Graduates are prepared to:

  • ​Practice at the highest level of nursing, integrating and applying knowledge from the sciences with the fields of organizational management, ethics, health policy, and information technology
  • Demonstrate leadership skills in organizational and health systems management to improve the safety and quality of healthcare
  • ​Apply analytical skills and translational science methodologies to practice-focused scholarship
  • ​Provide leadership in interprofessional collaborative teams to improve health outcomes for individuals, populations, systems, and the crafting of policy
  • ​Demonstrate high levels of skills in health promotion and disease prevention strategies for individuals, populations, and systems
  • ​Develop skill in the analysis and shaping of health policy 
  • ​Demonstrate skill in the application of ethical decision-making frameworks to resolve ethical dilemmas in healthcare

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Ohio State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Must participate in one required on-campus orientation session.
  • Proof of current unrestricted Registered Nurse License

Restricted States

Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wyoming, US Territories