Rochester Hills, MI

School Details

Oakland University was founded in 1957 when Matilda Dodge Wilson and her husband Alfred Wilson donated their 1,500-acre estate to Michigan State University. In 1959, what is now Oakland University opened under the name Michigan State University-Oakland. When it first opened there were only 570 students and the campus was comprised of just three buildings. In 1963, Michigan State University-Oakland was renamed Oakland University. Today it remains the only major public research university located in Oakland County, Michigan. Part of the mission of OU is “…In all its activities, Oakland University strives to exemplify educational leadership in a diverse and inclusive environment."

Students enrolled at Oakland University have the choice of choosing a major in one of six different schools:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • School of Business Administration
  • School of Education and Human Services
  • School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • School of Health Science
  • School of Nursing

To accommodate the busy lives of many of the students at Oakland University, there are a slew of online courses and many bachelor's and master's programs that can be completed entirely online. There are also numerous certificates that can be completed online and other degrees that can be completed partially online.

Accreditation & Licensing

Oakland University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability