Tahlequah, OK

School Details

Northeastern State University is a four-year, public institution of higher learning first approved by the Cherokee National Council in 1846. The school, under the titles of the National Male Seminary and the National Female Seminary welcomed its first students in 1851. By 1909, the schools transitioned into Northeastern State Normal School, later becoming Northeastern State Teachers College awarding four-year degrees. Through the twentieth century the institution continued to grow, becoming part of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education, expanding curriculum, and adding a graduate program. In 1985, the school adopted its current title, Northeastern State University. Today, Northeastern State University’s mission is to “provide our diverse communities a broad array of lifelong learning, undergraduate, graduate, and professional doctoral degree programs.”

Northeastern State University offers undergraduate and graduate programs from the following colleges:

  • College of Business and Technology
  • College of Education
  • College of Extended Learning
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • College of Optometry
  • College of Science and Health Professionals
  • Graduate College

For students wanting to complete a degree but find it difficult to commute to campus, Northeastern State University offers select online courses that can be applied towards a degree.

Accreditation & Licensing

Northeastern State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability