Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Therapy / Military Family Therapy
Northcentral University

Program Details

Serving the nation in the armed forces brings about its own, distinctive set of challenges for a family.  It only makes sense, therefore, to have a unique specialization in therapy to deal directly with these challenges when they become overwhelming to a couple or family.  This online MAMFT in Military Family Therapy offered by Northcentral will give you the analytical, practical and theoretical knowledge to use in these situations.  Therapy methods are taught from a family-based, systems-oriented approach.  In this program, you’ll benefit from a one-on-one learning environment where faculty members quickly become mentors.  Coursework involves a practicum and internship that can normally be completed in a nearby location.  Classes may include:

  • Military Family Therapy:  Clinical Applications
  • Assessing and Treating Family Violence
  • Systemic Treatment of Infidelity and Sex Addiction

This program follows the guidelines of the AAMFT to prepare you for licensure.  However, be sure to check with your individual state for license requirements prior to enrollment.


  • This program requires face-to-face clinical hours and supervision.
  • A conferred bachelor’s and/or a conferred master’s or doctoral degree
  • Current resume or CV
  • Statement of Intent
  • Licensure plan (not required for applicants with an existing MFT license)
  • Statement of professional ethics and conduct
  • List of clinical site possibilities in the area of residence
  • Course transfer/waive request (if applicable)
  • Interview with an MFT faculty member
  • Background check

Special Accreditation

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (COAMFTE-AAMFT)

School Accreditation Statement

NCU is a WSCUC accredited institution. WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, WSCUC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

Restricted States

Arkansas, District of Columbia, Kansas, New Hampshire