Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Therapy / Medical Family Therapy
Northcentral University

Program Details

NCU’s online MAMFT provides you the education to help members of a family navigate through difficult times together.  From a married couple, to blended families with several children, you’ll learn the clinical, practical and theoretical knowledge to become a successful marriage and family therapist. You’ll also benefit from the 1:1 learning environment at Northcentral that fosters mentorship.  You’ll not only sharpen your research and analytical skills, but faculty members will guide you along the way.  The therapy methods taught in this degree are applicable to numerous clinical settings and, naturally, revolve around a family-based, systems-oriented approach.  The curriculum lends itself to licensure preparation and includes both a practicum and internship that can usually be completed nearby students’ homes.  Classes generally include the following:

  • Systemic Evaluation and Case Management
  • Psychopathology, Evaluation and Treatment
  • Treatment Planning and Traditional Family Therapy

As a reminder, if you plan to use this degree towards licensure, be sure to check with your own state regarding license requirements.


  • This program requires face-to-face clinical hours and supervision.
  • A conferred bachelor’s and/or a conferred master’s or doctoral degree
  • Current resume or CV
  • Statement of Intent
  • Licensure plan (not required for applicants with an existing MFT license)
  • Statement of professional ethics and conduct
  • List of clinical site possibilities in the area of residence
  • Course transfer/waive request (if applicable)
  • Interview with an MFT faculty member
  • Background check

Special Accreditation

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (COAMFTE-AAMFT)

School Accreditation Statement

NCU is a WSCUC accredited institution. WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, WSCUC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

Restricted States

Arkansas, District of Columbia, Kansas, New Hampshire