Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Therapy / Child & Adolescent Family Therapy
Northcentral University

Program Details

Raising children can be extremely challenging in today’s society, filled with social media, peer pressure and bullying across all school levels.  On top of that, divorce can add a whole other element of stress to their lives.  You can help children and their parents navigate through difficult times with an online MA in MFT, with a specialization in Child & Adolescent Family Therapy.  At NCU, students explore a family-based, systems approach to therapy that can be used in a myriad of clinical settings.  Plus, you’ll benefit from a unique one-on-one learning environment, where faculty mentors guide you through a curriculum that is both COAMFTE and IACSTE accredited.  Classes likely include:

  • Family Therapy with Adolescents
  • Child and Adolescent Family Therapy: Historical and Theoretical Foundations
  • Research Methods and Evidence Based Practice

If you plan on using this degree as a pathway to licensure, remember to check with your own state for your individual requirements prior to enrolling in this, or any other program.

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (COAMFTE-AAMFT)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Northcentral University is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

NCU is a WSCUC accredited institution. WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, WSCUC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). For program disclosures, visit

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Application Requirements

Additional Materials May Be Requested, Criminal Background Check, Interview, Official College Transcript(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • This program requires face-to-face clinical hours and supervision.

Restricted States

Arkansas, District of Columbia, Kansas, New Hampshire