Find out more about Northcentral University

Doctorate of Marriage & Family Therapy / Small Business Development & Entrepreneurship

Program Details

The Doctorate of Marriage and Family Therapy (DMFT) is a challenging, yet fulfilling, in-depth degree program designed to meet your own unique professional and personal goals. The DMFT is a 60-credit doctoral program designed to provide master’s-level clinicians with skills in program development, program evaluation, grant writing, clinical practice, clinical supervision, and applied research.

Successfully running a counseling practice isn’t what most mental health care practitioners learn to do while gaining expertise in their fields. As a result, many gifted therapists and counselors see their dreams of private practice evaporate. The Small Business Development and Entrepreneurship Specialization is designed to prepare you to manage the business aspects of a clinical practice, or use your expertise in an entrepreneurial fashion. In this specialization you will focus your course projects, internship work, and dissertation research on issues broadly related to small business development and entrepreneurship.


This program requires face-to-face client contact, supervision, and a doctoral internship prior to completing the program.

  • Applicants must have earned a master’s degree from a nationally or regionally accredited university. The qualifying master’s degree must have been completed in a clinical program (e.g., MFT, psychology, social work, counseling)
  • Send your official transcripts from other schools you attended
  • Current resume or CV
  • Statement of intent
  • Licensure plan (not required for applicants with an existing MFT license)
  • Statement of professional ethics and conduct
  • List of clinical site possibilities in the area of residence (not required for applicants with an existing MFT license)
  • Course transfer/waive request (if applicable)
  • Interview with an MFT faculty member
  • Background check

Accreditation & Licensing

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Senior College and University Commission


This program is not authorized for residents of Arkansas, New York, or North Carolina.