Greensboro, NC

School Details

North Carolina A & T State University was founded in 1891 as The Agricultural and Mechanical College for the Colored Race. In 1915, state legislators changed the college’s name to the Agricultural and Technical College of North Carolina, and then in 1967, university status was granted and the name changed once again to North Carolina A & T State University. Because of its continued progress and value of education, North Carolina A & T State University became a constituent university of the University of North Carolina in 1972. The school's mission is "to develop technology leaders for the global economy through relative use of technology and innovation in the instruction, strategic private and public partnerships in research and scholarship and a student-centered and project-based learning environment."

Students have a variety of options academically at North Carolina A & T State University, offered through the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Arts, Humanities, and Sciences
  • College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
  • College of Business and Economics
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Health and Human Sciences
  • College of Science and Technology
  • The Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
  • The Graduate College

North Carolina A & T State University offers bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees, as well as programs that can be completed through its distance learning program. 

Accreditation & Licensing

North Carolina A & T State University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability