Find out more about New Mexico State University

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

New Mexico State University, a four-year, public, land-grant institution, was founded in 1888 as Las Cruces College. In 1889, the New Mexico Territorial Legislature authorized the creation of the Agricultural College and Experiment Station and Las Cruces College became the New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts. By 1960, the school had grown substantially, and its name was changed by state constitutional amendment to New Mexico State University.

As a Hispanic-serving institution, NMSU serves a multi-cultural population of students across 49 states and 89 foreign countries. It is a NASA Space Grant College and is home to the very first Honors College in New Mexico. The school's mission is "to serve the educational needs of New Mexico’s diverse population through comprehensive programs of education, research, extension education, and public service."

NMSU offers bachelor degree completion programs, master's and doctorate programs, as well as a number of associate and certificate programs in partnership with the following community college campuses:

  • Alamogordo
  • Carlsbad
  • Doña Ana
  • Grants

Accreditation & Licensing

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

All Programs