Master of Arts in Education in Intervention Specialist (Initial License)
Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Program Details

The online Master of Arts in Education in Intervention Specialist  (Mild/Moderate Disabilities) option is designed for educators interested in working with students with mild or moderate disabilities and who wish to enhance their credentials to include both Intervention Specialist licensure and a master’s degree.  This program meets the needs of teachers interested in serving students with disabilities and who are licensed Early Childhood Education, Middle Childhood Education, Adolescent Young Adult, or Multi-Age teachers.  It is also designed for educators serving students with disabilities on a temporary or alternative special education license who wish to gain the credentials needed to improve their employment options.  The curriculum is designed to provide a high-quality education with enough flexibility that educators can maintain personal and professional responsibilities while completing it.

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Mount Vernon Nazarene University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Official College Transcript(s), Occupational License, Interview, Additional Materials May Be Requested

Additional Info

  • This program is only available to residents of Ohio. 

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa