Butte, MT

School Details

Montana Tech of the University of Montana is a four-year, public institution of higher education, located in the city of Butte, Montana. The school was founded in 1900 as the Montana State School of Mines. In 1965, the school changed its name to the Montana College of Mineral Science and Technology and in 1995 it became part of the University of Montana System. The Butte Vocational and Technical Center and what is now known as Highlands College joined with Montana Tech when it became part of this system, as well.

The schools and colleges that make up Montana Tech are: 

  • School of Mines and Engineering
  • College of Letters, Sciences, and Professional Studies
  • The Graduate School
  • Highlands College

In addition to traditional on campus programs of study, Montana Tech also offers degrees and certificate programs in both the fully online and the hybrid learning environments.

Accreditation & Licensing

Montana Tech of the University of Montana is accredited by:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Check Program Availability