Master of Science in Nursing / Adult Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist
Kent State University

Program Details

The online Master of Science from Kent State University prepares nurses for advanced clinical roles and national certification. A concentration in Adult Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist provides the competencies necessary to treat adult to senior patients.

The online Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner program covers a range of topics designed for nurses interested in pursuing advanced and leadership roles. Coursework and clinical experiences focus on providing a variety of advanced nursing care from wellness to acute care. Students gain skills and knowledge in areas including direct care, systems leadership, collaboration, research, ethical decision-making, and advocacy.

Courses cover topics relevant to advanced practice registered nurses, such as:

  • Pathophysiology
  • Pharmacology
  • Clinical diagnostics
  • Advanced health assessment

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Kent State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • A bachelor's and/or graduate degree from an accredited registered nursing program is preferred. Applicants with a RN license and bachelor's degree in a non-nursing field will be considered based on faculty review of a submitted portfolio.
  • Active, unrestricted RN license required
  • Must have completed an undergraduate statistics course with minimum C grade

Restricted States

Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International