Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Kansas State University

Program Details

The online MS in Electrical & Computer Engineering degree program from Kansas State University is designed for working professionals who possess a bachelor's degree in electrical or computer engineering. Students may choose one of two concentration areas to suit their personal interests and professional goals:

  • Electric Power Systems (open to U.S. students only)
  • Communication & Networking (open to all students)


Students must travel to campus once at the end of their program for an oral examination.

  • Bachelor's degree in electrical or computer engineering from an ABET-accredited institution with a 3.0 GPA in the final two years or approximately the last 60 credit hours
  • Background in calculus including differential equations, probability and statistics, circuit analysis, electronics, linear systems, control systems, electromagnetics, energy conversion, and microcontrollers (an electrical engineering technology degree covering these topics does not usually qualify a student for admission; some of these requirements may be waived for students with significant work experience in a relevant field)
  • For candidates not holding a bachelor's degree in electrical or computer engineering from an ABET-accredited institution, the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is required; Minimum scores (based on the new scale): Verbal – 145; Quantitative – 155; Analytical Writing – 3.0
  • Students with degrees in physics, mathematics, computer science and other areas also are eligible for acceptance into the program (these students may be required to complete some undergraduate electrical engineering courses prior to full graduate admission)
  • Statement of objectives
  • Resume/curriculum vitae
  • Names and emails of three professional and/or academic references who will provide letters of recommendation
  • Unofficial transcripts from each institution attended

School Accreditation Statement

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission