Find out more about Houston Baptist University

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

Houston Baptist College was created by action of the Baptist General Convention of Texas on November 15, 1960. The College opened in September 1963 with a freshman class of 193 students, a cluster of new buildings, and a teaching staff of thirty faculty. Initially, the College offered only a Bachelor of Arts degree with academic courses in five subjects: Christianity, Fine Arts, Languages, Science and Mathematics, and Social Studies. Today, HBC offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees from seven schools and colleges, each with their own departments:

  • Archie W. Dunham College of Business
  • School of Christian Thought
  • College of Education and Behavioral Sciences
  • School of Fine Arts
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Nursing and Allied Health
  • College of Science and Mathematics

HBU offers fully accredited, 100% online graduate and undergraduate programs in nursing, education, and apologetics to accommodate adults with demanding family and work schedules.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

All Programs