Master of Science in Nursing / Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Gonzaga University

Program Details

Gonzaga University offers an online MSN for nurses pursuing a career as a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. In this program, students learn how to provide mental health care services for a variety of individuals in diverse settings

Skilled mental health NPs can become leaders within their organization and help improve care for those they serve. Coursework of this online Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program focuses on assisting people of all ages with diagnosed psychiatric disorders, as well as individuals, families, and populations at risk for mental illness.

Some of the topics covered in this program include:

  • Psychiatric mental health nursing concepts
  • Psychopharmacology
  • Clinical prevention for diverse populations
  • Evidence-based practice for quality and safety

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Gonzaga University is accredited by:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Interview, Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Five on-campus visits required for immersion experiences.
  • Must have a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution with an unencumbered RN license from a CCNE or ACEN accredited program. Individuals with a non-BSN degree and unencumbered RN license can apply but may need to complete additional nursing classes.

Restricted States

Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin