Post-Master’s Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner
Carlow University

Program Details

Develop the specialized clinical skills necessary to provide compassionate, personalized care to families, elderly patients, and children as a board-certified family nurse practitioner in Carlow University’s CCNE-accredited Post-Master’s Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner online program.  The certificate is available to those who already hold a Master of Science in Nursing.

Skilled individual and family care professionals who are highly knowledgeable and trained to promote patient health are in high demand.  Taught by experienced, accessible faculty, Carlow’s rigorous program readies advanced practice nurses to be clinical experts who serve as leaders of their practice and meet the need for consistent care throughout patients’ lives.  

Licensed nurse practitioners can complete the certificate in just three semesters.  Others will graduate in 3-7 semesters and all graduates are prepared to guide and motivate patients and partner with them to prevent disease and restore wellness.  These competitive and competent nurses are prepared to sit for the AANP or ANCC national board certification.  Those hoping to pursue a doctorate can take up to six credits of doctoral credit in the certificate program.

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Carlow University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Applicants must have one year or more of recent clinical (bedside) nursing experience.
  • This program requires an on-campus residency.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa