Find out more about Cameron University

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

Cameron University, located in Lawton, OK, directly ties its establishment to the founding of the state of Oklahoma. Once Oklahoma achieved statehood, the legislature quickly moved to develop agricultural high schools in each of its six districts by 1908. Cameron State School of Agriculture first educated high school students in the basement of a local bank. The institution soon grew adding post-secondary classes by 1927, and changing its name to Cameron State Agricultural College. In 1941, the school ended high school programming to focus on higher education. 

As the college evolved, degree programs were expanded to include bachelor’s degrees and then graduate degrees followed. Likewise, the name followed expansions, transitioning to Cameron College and then Cameron University in 1974. Additionally, Cameron University extended the physical campus to include the Duncan Higher Education Center in Duncan, Oklahoma, in 2004.

Today, the public 4-year Cameron University is the only institution in the state of Oklahoma that awards associate’s, bachelor’s, and master’s degrees at one institution. Students can pursue a wide range of studies at Cameron University. In addition to degree programs, Cameron University also supports non-degree pre-professional programs in the fields of medicine, dentistry, law, pharmacy, veterinary medicine and engineering. Cameron University also houses distance education learning for added convenience. Asynchronous online coursework is similar to on-campus counterparts with schedules and assignment deadlines.

Accreditation & Licensing

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

All Programs