Bachelor of Arts in Human Development
California State University-East Bay

Program Details

California State University in East Bay offers the Bachelor of Arts in Human Development, which aims to satisfy a busy professional student’s need for higher education while staying committed to current careers, community involvement or family. 

The Human Development concentration is an interdisciplinary program that introduces students to the theory and methodology appropriate for professions in anthropology, biology, linguistics, psychology and sociology. This curriculum intends to enhance a student’s understanding of the processes contributing to developmental change and evolvement across a human lifecycle, as well as the socio-cultural and historical factors influencing progress.

Earning a BA in Human Development may give students the opportunity to specialize in one of three areas within the degree. Students have the choice of studying: Adult Development and Gerontology, Women’s Development, or Early Childhood Development. Adult Development and Gerontology focuses on early, middle, and late adulthood. Women’s Development concentrates on women’s social, psychological, cultural, and biological development. Finally, Early Childhood Development focuses on children from birth to age five.

The program examines human development theories and the dynamic social, cultural, physical and emotional dimensions. Each area of specialization delves into a particularly influential part of many civilizations, enlightening students to the concepts and issues associated with select groups. Successful graduates should be able to apply the learned academics in both clinical and non-clinical environments, as well as use the curriculum to critically assess human situations.


  • Major offerings are offered online, however only select general education requirements may be available online.
  • GPA of 2.0 or higher
  • Official transcripts

School Accreditation Statement

WASC Senior College and University Commission

Geographic Restrictions

Not approved for residents in: Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, North Dakota, Tennessee, and Washington.