School Overview

The California State University System recognized a need for a college in the San Joaquin Valley region, so in 1970, California State University Bakersfield, the 19th member of the University System, opened.

CSU Bakersfield awards undergraduate and graduate degrees, including Master’s degrees. CSU Bakersfield houses four academic colleges: 

  • School of Business and Public Administration
  • School of Social Sciences and Education
  • School of Arts and Humanities
  • School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

Meeting the demands for distance learning programming, CSU Bakersfield also offers online degrees, housed in the Extended University Division. The Extended University Division manages extension programming and certificates, lifelong learning for adults, regional degree programs, along with the online campus. Online degree programs vary from complete distance education coursework to blended online and on-site formatting.

School Details

Location: 9001 Stockdale Hwy,Bakersfield, CA 93311-1099

Religious Affiliation: Not applicable

Sector & Type: Public, Not-for-profit

Military Support:

  • Credit for Training
  • Dedicated POC
  • Member of SOC
  • Recognized SVO
  • Yellow Ribbon

Highest Offering: Masters

Accreditation & Licensing

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Senior College and University Commission



This school has not been ranked.

Success! Thank you for submitting a review. You may not see your review immediately as it still subject to review.

All Programs