Doctor of Nursing Practice / Nurse-Midwifery
Baylor University

Program Details

While it is said that giving birth is a natural process, it is always good to have the assistance of a professional.  The Doctor of Nursing Practice Nurse-Midwifery, an online nurse practitioner degree, will teach practicing nurses to fulfill this role.  Committed to educating nurse-midwives in a Christian environment, the graduates of this program provide holistic, women-centered care throughout the lifespan.  The curriculum emphasizes women-focused healthcare services and offers a detailed study of birthing, gynecological, and preventive care.  At Baylor University you will study alongside other diverse and qualified students, pursuing cultural competency while focusing on caring for vulnerable populations.  

Upon completion of this degree, you are prepared to sit for the Nurse Midwife certification exam.

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME)

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Baylor University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Main coursework is online with on-campus immersions throughout the program
  • Master of Science in Nursing from a regionally accredited school of nursing
  • Current unencumbered RN license
  • At least one year of full-time experience as a professional nurse in labor and delivery, on the mother-baby unit, or in an outpatient OB/GYN setting at time of application. Extensive observational experiences of birth, or education and practice as a doula will be considered. Applicants with other experiences in the maternal-child health specialty will be considered individually.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International