Doctor of Nursing Practice / Family Nurse Practitioner
Baylor University

Program Details

There is a shortage of nurses in the United States, especially those trained at the doctorate level.  Not only does the Doctor of Nursing Practice Family Nurse Practitioner program online allow you to continue working as a nurse while earning your degree, it also allows you to help meet this critical need.  With this degree nurses are trained to offer primary care to patients of all ages.  You will be a leader in the field, providing care to underserved populations, implementing the latest treatment methods, and improving patient outcomes for the patient, their families, and even entire communities.  

This online nurse practitioner degree prepares holistic and autonomous advanced practice nurses through the integration of faith and academics.  Courses examine such topics as:

  • Pathophysiology
  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare policy and business
  • Ethics
  • Servant leadership

Upon graduation, nurses are prepared to sit for the national Family Nurse Practitioner certification exams.

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Baylor University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Main coursework is online with on-campus immersions throughout the program
  • Master of Science in Nursing from a regionally accredited school of nursing
  • Current unencumbered RN license
  • One year of full-time experience as a practicing professional nurse by the first day of class (additional work experience may be required by faculty)

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International