Find out more about Austin Peay State University

Associate of Science Degree (A.S.)

Program Details

The Associate of Science in Liberal Arts Degree at Austin Peay State University is the only distance-based Associate Degree offered by the institution. The program may be completed entirely online and is designed to aid students in transferring to a Bachelor Degree program at APSU or another accredited college or university. Graduates may also strengthen their potential to obtain entry-level positions in a variety of fields.

This interdisciplinary program focuses on a range of topics to give students an encompassing general education that may serve as a foundation for continuing education. Students are able to specialize their degrees to their own interests and goals by selecting classes from a list of electives in order to complete the total credit requirement.

Students in the program are required to take courses in English composition, public speaking, and American history. Proper oral and written communication are important to many careers, so the faculty at APSU seeks to instill its students with such properties. Additional courses that fill general education requirements come from the areas of the humanities and fine arts, mathematics, the natural sciences, and the social and behavioral sciences. Each discipline allows for a range of course possibilities that allow for students to narrow the scope of their degree if they so choose.

To complete this program, a student must earn a total of 60 credits, 41 of which come from courses that fulfill general education requirements. The remaining 19 come from electives of the student's choice. Degree candidates are encouraged to meet with an advisor to select the most appropriate courses to their futures. Possible electives include any of the courses not selected to satisfy individual disciplines in the general education requirement.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

Austin Peay State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate, baccalaureate, master’s and education specialist degrees.