College Credit for Published Works

• Last Post 14 May 2012
MichaelCarl posted this 22 September 2011 - Last edited 14 March 2016

Is there a university that will grant graduate level credit, preferably for a Doctorate, for published work that has been done in the specific fields of terrorism, national security and human rights. I'm a journalist and have an 8-page 'Vitae' of published work to present to a prospective Political Science Department.

2 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 23 September 2011 - Last edited 26 October 2015

Hi Michael,

Thanks much for posting this question.

Unfortunately, in the USA there is no university that will grant college / degree or dissertation credit based on past published works.

Let me preface that by saying there is no university that I know of that holds accreditation that is recognized by the US Dept of Education or the Council on Higher Education Accreditation that will routinely award degree credit for career publications.

SEE: Life Experience Credit Degrees

So, my first question would be do you care about the accreditation status of the online university that grants you the degree?

I ask because there are two options if you set aside the criteria that the school hold recognized accreditation (I wouldn't do that myself but am letting you know of options that you could weigh relative to your question):

1) Option One: There are "licensed" schools in selected states, primarily California, that may be able to help you with extensive review and consideration of prior published works. These colleges arenot accredited so their degrees are not widely accepted BUT they are legal in the sense that they are recognized by the state of California as degree granters.