Aviation Life Experience Credit for Pilots

• 1K Views
  • Last Post 07 June 2013
Texbubba posted this 07 August 2012 - Last edited 26 February 2016

I have 7 years work experience as a professional airline pilot, plus 75 hours off upper level college credit in aviation classes. I have only 6 hours credit in basic Gen Ed classes. My question is which college or program can I use to earn my Bachelors Degree in anything, preferably Aviation? I just need to check the box that I have a Bachelors Degree to move on to the bigger airlines? I would like to do it as quickly and cheaply as possible. What are the best recommendations for me? Thank you.

3 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 10 August 2012 - Last edited 25 October 2015

Hi Texbubba,

I've worked with many licensed pilots and aviation techs over the years.

You will want to attend a college online that will work with you to award the maximum number of college credits for your aviation training and flight hours.

SEE: Credit for life experience for great info on how and where to go to college under this option

I am not sure if the "75 hours of upper level college credit in aviation" you cite is from a college or from an assessment of college equivalency for aviation training .. In any case you will need 120 semester credits for any accredited bachelors with about half these in general education.

The "general education" portion will be where you will need to focus to document/earn most of your bachelor completion credits as your licesning/training as a pilot will/should cover most all of your major area and electives.

The program(s) I would recommend for you as a licensed pilot zooming toward bachelor completion:

1-----Thomas Edison State College - BSAST in Aviation Flight Technology