DePaul vs. Antioch Online: Reviews & Tuition

• Last Post 11 October 2014
sherice posted this 28 July 2014 - Last edited 26 February 2016

Hello, I'd like to return to school to receive my BA degree online. I already have an associate degree from a B&M school where I majored in General Education. I'm interested in changing careers to a corporate trainer and grant writer.

Because I want to attend a traditional university with bachelor degrees that can be offered completely online I've applied/was accepted to the following colleges:

1) DePaul University majoring in Bachelor of Arts with an Individualized Focus
2) Antioch University majoring in Human Services Administration

They both have their pros and cons:

Antioch University
Pros: Looks like a great program, inexpensive
Con: Not well known, doesn't have scholarships except for FASA and loans. They came under some fire a couple of years ago from what I read somewhere and is rebuilding their rep.

DePaul University
Pros: Well-known school, will set you up with an advisor in your chosen field of study, gives all online learners an annual scholarship for $3000 on top of that you can do FASA and loans.
Cons: EXPENSIVE, the only program you can take completely online is the School of New Learning for adults so you won't get a degree in like Accounting I don't think you get something that’s like a professional degree but I'm double checking on that.

Does anyone have any experience with either school? What do you think?

2 Comments
Kayleigh posted this 01 August 2014 - Last edited 25 October 2015

Hi there,

Thanks for your question!

It's very tricky to decide which school is perfect for you but we can definitely help.

Since both of these school's hold Regional Accreditation we'll skip this factor and move on to the next.

First, consider cost. DePaul's BA will run you $58,300 for the entire degree including fees. Antioch could be as much as $40K cheaper!